New Rush Album Release Date Confirmed | Guitar Interactive Magazine

Published 12 years ago on April 12, 2012

By Guitar Interactive Magazine

Rush have given their fans a date to finally get excited about.After much anticipation, the iconic prog-rockers will release theirnew album 'Clockwork Angels' on June 12. It will be the trio'sfirst studio album since 2007's 'Snakes & Arrows" and will bethe band's first release since joining forces withAnthem/Roadrunner records.

Earlier this week, the band released a short video trailerfeaturing a short preview of the new single "Headlong Flight".Watch the clip below

Recording began in April 2010 with Grammy Award winning producerNick Raskulinecz (Foo Fighters, Deftones) - who also collaboratedwith the band on 'Snakes & Arrows'. Rush co-produced bothrecords.

The first two songs, "Caravan" and "BU2B," were completed duringthat first session at Nashville's Blackbird studios and performednightly during the wildly successful Time Machine Tour, which ranfrom June 2010 to June 2011.

Work then resumed in the fall of 2011 at Revolution Recording inToronto after the tour's finale, with additional strings (arrangedby David Campbell) recorded at Hollywood's Ocean Way Studiosearlier this year.

Lyrically, "Clockwork Angels" chronicles a young man's questacross a lavish and colorful world of steampunk and alchemy as heattempts to follow his dreams.

The story features lost cities, pirates, anarchists, an exoticcarnival, and a rigid Watchmaker who imposes precision on everyaspect of daily life.

The novelization of "Clockwork Angels" is being written byscience fiction writer Kevin J. Anderson in collaboration with Rushdrummer and lyricist Neil Peart.

The announcement is the second piece of big Rush news in as manydays after the band were crowned lifetime achievers at the MetalHammer Golden Gods awards last night. Drummer Neil Peart wasthe only member of the band on hand to accept the award.Bassist/vocalist Geddy Lee was in Japan, and guitarist AlexLifeson, who Peart claimed is "the funniest man in the world," wasin Toronto.

Although known for his challenging and wordy lyrics, Peart wasuncharacteristically brief and direct in his acceptance speech. Hesimply wanted to "express our gratitude. Our lifetimes aren't over,our achievements aren't over, so this is like 'So far, so good,'and we'll keep trying to get better. Thank you."

The ceremony saw Tenacious D bestow the band with the award.Jack Black spoke about the influence Rush had on him growingup:

"Rush was the most impressive band, musically, when I was justlearning about rock... Weirdly, they got your body moving ininterpretive-dancing ways, but it was still aggressive. Their stuffwas just so complex and so tasty!"

The full tracklisting for 'Clockwork Angels' is as follows:

1. Caravan 

2. BU2B 

3. Clockwork Angels 

4. The Anarchist 

5. Carnies 

6. Halo Effect 

7. Seven Cities Of Gold 

8. The Wreckers 

9. Headlong Flight 

10. BU2B2 

11. Wish Them Well 

12. The Garden





You can keep up to date with all the latest news from iGuitar byfollowing us on Twitter and liking uson Facebook.





Jared James Nichols “Blues Power” Les Paul Custom Available Worldwide via Epiphone
Blues-rock guitar sensation Joanne Shaw Taylor announces February 2024 UK Tour
Kramer announces faithful reissue of the groundbreaking Baretta model
Chris Martin Celebrated the 190th Anniversary of C. F. Martin & Co. with an Event in New York City
Top magnifiercross linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram