Marty Friedman to Reissue 'Tokyo Jukebox Vol.1 & 2' in North America

Published 11 years ago on October 8, 2012

By Guitar Interactive Magazine

Marty Friedman to Reissue 'Tokyo Jukebox Vol.1 & 2'in North America -

Following on from the recent Marty Friedmanreissues by label home Prosthetic Records over thesummer, the heavy metal specialists have revealed they now plan toreleases both 'Tokyo Jukebox' albumsacross North America on Nov.20. 

First released in Japan in 2009 and 2011, respectively,'Tokyo Jukebox Vols. 1 & 2,' which representthe 9th and 11th chapters in Friedman's storied solo discography,will make their U.S. debut as a limited-edition, specially-priced2CD release featuring exclusive artwork and new liner notes by theex-Megadeth & Cacophonyguitarist.

The self-produced and self-arranged 'TokyoJukebox' concept album features reconstructed covers ofJ-pop and J-Rock hits selected by readers of Japan's topentertainment magazine. 'Tokyo Jukebox 2,'meanwhile, was recorded in Los Angeles at The Village (Aerosmith,Kiss) with guest performances by Jason Bittner (ShadowsFall) and Keshav Dhar (Skyharbor). The albums feature tracksoriginally performed by acclaimed Japanese acts such as Mr.Children, SMAP, Perfume and Maximum the Hormone.

Friedman recently announced a string of European tour dates withYossi Sassi and Stephan Forte as support - Tickets for the sixupcoming shows are on sale now at this location.

Friedman issued the following message regarding the tour:

"Yossi and I became friends on my 2011 solo tour, wecame up with the idea of putting together a concert tour withdecidedly unique and exotic guitarists, each from a different partof the world with their own ethnic sound and approach to theirmusic. I didn`t know just how cool Middle Eastern flavors could mixwith amazing rock guitar playing until I heard Yossi Sassi, I wasquite impressed. Stephan Forte will give you an idea what anabsolute guitar wizard from France sounds like. The tour willhappen in October and everyone is in for a once in a lifetimecollection of artists from separate corners of the world, and atruly inspiring treat."

The complete tour schedule is as follows:


9 - Colmar, France - Le Grillen
10 - Zoetermeer, Holland - Boerderij
12 - London, UK - Underworld
13 - Dublin, Ireland - The Village
15 - Paris, France - Divan du Monde
16 - Nantes, France - Le Ferrailleur
17 - Bilbao, Spain - Kafe Antzokia
19 - Lisbon, Portugal - Side B
20 - Madrid, Spain - Ramdall
21 - Barcelona, Spain - Salamandra
22 - Toulouse, France - Connexion Live
23 - Montpellier, France - Secret Place
24 - Toulon, France - Le Vox
25 - Prato, Italy - Keller Platz
26 - Milan, Italy - Carlito's Way  

Marty Friedman sends Guitar Interactive fans a special message regarding his Londonshow which takes place on October 12th at London's Underworld.



NEW MUSIC - EXTREME - New Album "SIX" Out On 9th June
NEW MUSIC - ART NATION - New Album "Inception" Out On 9th June 2023 via Frontiers Music Srl
Less Than A Week Until KISS Return To The UK - For The Final Time!
Arielle joins Sir Brian May and Van Morrison for 'James Burton & Friends UK - For One Night Only'
Top magnifiercross linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram