Guitar Interactive Magazine toggle menu

Music News

Dio Announce “A Decade Of Dio: 1983-1993" Box-Set

A new 6-disc box set in tribute to metal legends Dio will be released on July 22th.

“A Decade Of Dio: 1983-1993” will feature newly-remastered versions of the first six Dio albums including 1983’s “Holy Diver”, 1984’s “The Last In Line”, 1985’s “Sacred Heart”, 1987’s “Dream Evil”, 1990’s “Lock Up The Wolves” and 1993’s “Strange Highways.”

The box-set will first be released on CD, with a vinyl edition set to follow on October 4th that will feature a bonus 7” single which will include 1983's version of “Evil Eyes,” originally released as the b-side on the “Holy Diver”.

Dio joined Black Sabbath after leaving Rainbow in 1979, replacing Ozzy Osbourne, who had been fired, before leaving after featuring on two albums; Heaven & Hell & Mob Rules. After his stint in Sabbath, Ronnie Dio and drummer Vinny Appice formed Dio and the band released their debut album, "Holy Driver" in 1983. Dio released 10 studio albums in ten years amassing worldwide sales of more than 10 million copies.

Ronnie James Dio - "A Decade Of Dio: 1983-1993"

Release date: July 22 (CD) October 4 (vinyl)

* (1983) Holy Diver
* (1984) The Last In Line
* (1985) Sacred Heart
* (1987) Dream Evil
* (1990) Lock Up The Wolves
* (1993) Strange Highways

 DIO - Holy Driver 


Issue #75

Peter Green / Ivar Bjørnson

Out Now

Read the Mag