Guitar Interactive Magazine toggle menu

Music News

Scott Henderson's Announces New Studio Album and World Tour

(PRESS RELEASE): Scott Henderson's impressive work over the years as co-leader of the group Tribal Tech leader of his own ground breaking trio, and sideman to some of the best jazz artists of their generation, including the great Joe Zawinul, has elevated him to the front ranks of both Jazz and Blues. Besides being a world class player and premier composer, Scott's trademark is his beautiful tone and striking ability to blend Blues, Rock, Funk, and Jazz, creating a soulful and unique voice on the guitar.

"Henderson wreaks havoc on his guitar amid howling bottleneck notes, multihued chord voicings and ungodly hype-mode licks atop the rhythm section's slamming grooves and agile progressions. He often harmonizes with bassist Travis Carlton and during a variety of movements the trio summons an Armageddon with supple and heightening choruses within the prog-metal domain." - Glenn Astarita, All About Jazz

"Vibe Station reminds us once again of what an unbelievable talent Scott Henderson truly is. If you haven't yet discovered the genius of this remarkable guitar player, now is the perfect time to do so." - Peter Pardo, Sea Of Tranquility

Guitarist Scott Henderson's 5th solo project exhibits elements of jazz, rock & blues, but has a bigger variety of textures and tones. The new all instrumental CD features bassist Travis Carlton (son of Larry) & drummer extraordinaire Alan Hertz. Henderson speaks of the new work as the most challenging project of his career. Says Scott, “I'm really excited about this record because our trio has been touring a lot and that energy came through on all the performances. The music is still blues-based, but also has a lot of harmonic content. The big change is no vocals, which challenged me as a guitarist to write material which can be played in a vocal way on the guitar, while incorporating my own chord-melody style. I think fans will enjoy the scope of this record because it has elements of blues, rock, jazz and funk. There's something for everyone here.” Scott also said that the majority of the songs are layered with multi guitar tracks, utilizing many different guitars, pedals, amps and speaker combinations, making it the most textural and versatile sounding album he's ever done. Travis Carlton on bass and Alan Hertz on drums make this project and live show very much groove-based. Says Scott, “I need to see people moving in their seats. I'm not interested on putting on an intellectual show for musicians only. I don't believe I need to dumb down the music to appeal to people who aren't musicians, because when Travis and Alan play together, the groove is going to attack you whether you're a musician or not”. Scott Henderson's impressive work over the years as co-leader of the group TRIBAL TECH, leader of his own ground breaking trio, and sideman to some of the best jazz artists of their generation, including the great Joe Zawinul, has elevated him to the front ranks of both Jazz and Blues. Besides being a world class player and premier composer, Scott's trademark is his beautiful tone and striking ability to blend Blues, Rock, Funk, and Jazz, creating a soulful and unique voice on the guitar.

Scott Henderson Tour Dates 

USA/Mexico Tour 2015

Fri, July 10 - Studio City, Los Angeles, CA (Baked Potato)
Fri, July 24 - Santiago de Quéretaro, Mexico (Festival Internacional Jazz de Verano)
Thu Sep 10 - Chicago, IL (Reggie's) w/Marbin
Fri, Sep 11 - Chicago, IL (Reggie's) w/Marbin
Sun, Sep 13 - Austin, TX (Wobeon Festival, Ironwood Hall)
Wed, Sep 16 - New York, NY (The Iridium)
Thu, Sep 17 - New York, NY (The Iridium)
Sat, Sep 19 - Auburn Hills, MI (Callahan's)
Sun, Sep 20 - Auburn Hills, MI (Callahan's)

European Tour 2015

(more info to be announced soon)

Thu, October 8 - Uppsala, Sweden
Fri, October 9 - Uppsala, Sweden
Sat, October 10 - Moscow, Russia
Sun, October 11 - Astana, Kazakhstan
Tue, October 13 - Tromso, Norway
Wed, October 14 - Tromso, Norway
Thu, October 15 - Munich, Germany
Sat, October 17 - Delemont, Switzerland
Tue, October 20 - Bologna Italy

South America

(more info To be announced soon)

Fri, October 23 - Valparaiso, Chile
Sat, October 24 - Colina, Chile
Sun, October 25 - Puerto Montt, Chile
Mon, October 26 - Santiago, Chile
Thu, October 29 - Rancagua, Chile
Fri, October 30 - La Paz, Bolivia
Sat, October 31 - Lima, Peru
Mon, November 2 - Buenos Aires, Argentina
Tue, November 3 - Cordoba, Argentina
Thu, November 5 - Azul, Argentina
Fri, November 6 - Rosario, Argentina
Sat, November 7 - Buenos Aires, Argentina
Sun, November 8 - Montevideo, Uruguay
Mon, November 9 - Mar Del Plata, Argentina

Comments

Issue #52

Yngwie Malmsteen

Out Now

Read the Mag
Top