Guitar Interactive Magazine toggle menu

Music News

Whitesnake's Cover of Deep Purple Classic "Burn" Available to Stream

Whitesnake have covered Deep Purple classic "Burn" and are offering a stream of the track as a preview of their upcoming album, The Purple Album which is released on May 19th via Frontiers Music SRL.

The band's 12th album will feature re-recordings of classic Deep Purple tracks that featured frontman Dave Coverdale such as "Burn", "Stormbringer" and "Come Taste The Band".

On the cover, Coverdale said (via Hennemusic):

"It's a tribute. A homage. It's a huge thank you from me to Deep Purple for the opportunity I was given over 40 years ago. As I said to Ritchie, you guys set me on an incredible journey that continues today and I couldn't have asked for better teachers."

Whitesnake's "The Purple Album" will be released on May 19th.

A video for the first single, "Stormbringer" and "Burn" can be seen below.

The Purple Album" track listing:

01. Burn
02. You Fool No One (interpolating Itchy Fingers)
03. Love Child
04. Sail Away
05. The Gypsy
06. Lady Double Dealer
07. Mistreated
08. Holy Man
09. Might Just Take Your Life
10. You Keep On Moving
11. Soldier Of Fortune
12. Lay Down Stay Down
13. Stormbringer

Deluxe edition bonus tracks:

14. Lady Luck
15. Comin' Home

DVD content:

* "Lady Double Dealer" - Music Video
* "Sail Away" - Mix Music Video
* "Stormbringer" - Music Video
* "Soldier Of Fortune" - Music Video
* "The Purple Album" Behind The Scenes
* "The Purple Album" EPK



Issue #75

Peter Green / Ivar Bjørnson

Out Now

Read the Mag