Guitar Interactive Magazine toggle menu

Toto Announce First Studio Album in 10 Years

Toto have announced their first studio album in 10 years, entitled “Toto XIV”.

In what will mark the legendary US outfit's 13th studio release, the record will be available in a number of configurations such as CD, with a Deluxe Edition featuring a "Making of" Documentary, expanded booklet featuring interviews and exclusive band shots. Additionally Toto XIV will also be available as a 2LP vinyl set, and a Super Deluxe limited edition.

The new record has been described as a "realised vision three plus decades in the making exhibiting world-class musicianship, masterful arrangements, topical lyrical commentary, and melodies that the collective genius of Steve Lukather, David Paich, Steve Porcaro, Joseph Williams and their assembled band-mates bring to life".

Toto XIV is the band’s first album of new material since 2006’s Falling In Between.  However, the band personally considers the new album to be the true follow-up to Toto IV.

"This is opposite of going through the motions,” says keyboardist Steve Porcaro.  We’re treating this like it is Toto V, our follow-up to Toto IV. We just want to be the best version of ourselves that we can be. Be true to ourselves and make the best music we can.  Entertain people which is what we were put on this earth for."

"When you put us in a room, and everybody brings in their pieces, the next thing you know it all fits together,” says guitarist Steve “Luke” Lukather. “Everybody's performances are top notch. We are really bringing our best out, forcing ourselves to make personal best choices, what's best for the music. I'm really excited to hear what people think."

Toto XIV will be released in Europe on March 20, followed by the UK on March 23 and the US on March 24.

Toto XIV

1.            Running Out Of Time
2.            Burn
3.            Holy War
4.            21st Century Blues
5.            Orphan
6.            Unknown Soldier (For Jeffrey)
7.            The Little Things
8.            Chinatown
9.            All The Tears That Shine
10.          Fortune
11.          Great Expectations






Issue #74

Jim Root

Out Now

Read the Mag