Guitar Interactive Magazine toggle menu

Music News

Eric Clapton's “Eric Clapton & Friends: The Breeze, An Appreciation of JJ Cale” Preview

Anyone looking forward to the impending release of “Eric Clapton & Friends: The Breeze, An Appreciation of JJ Cale” will now be able to preview the upcoming tribute via a mini-documentary.

The short clip features project kingpin Eric Clapton discussing the album, which will include 16 Cale numbers covered by guitar titans such as Clapton, Mark Knopfler, John Mayer, Willie Nelson, Tom Petty, Derek Trucks and Don White.

“I would like people to tap into what JJ Cale did – that’s the point,” said Clapton (via Hennemusic) “I’m just the messenger; I’ve always felt that that’s my job. I try to interpret things so that the public at large, or at least the people who listen to what I do, will become intrigued about where I got it from.”

“Eric Clapton & Friends: The Breeze, An Appreciation of JJ Cale” will be released July 29th.

Eric Clapton & Friends "The Breeze, An Appreciation of JJ Cale"

01. Call Me The Breeze (Eric Clapton)
02. Rock And Roll Records (Eric Clapton & Tom Petty)
03. Someday (Mark Knopfler)
04. Lies (John Mayer & Eric Clapton)
05. Sensitive Kind (Don White)
06. Cajun Moon (Eric Clapton)
07. Magnolia (John Mayer)
08. I Got The Same Old Blues (Tom Petty & Eric Clapton)
09. Songbird (Willie Nelson & Eric Clapton)
10. Since You Said Goodbye (Eric Clapton)
11. I’ll Be There (If You Ever Want Me) (Don White & Eric Clapton)
12. The Old Man And Me (Tom Petty)
13. Train To Nowhere (Mark Knopfler, Don White & Eric Clapton)
14. Starbound (Willie Nelson)
15. Don’t Wait (Eric Clapton & John Mayer)
16. Crying Eyes (Eric Clapton & Christine Lakeland)


Eric Clapton & Friends - The Breeze (an appreciation of JJ Cale) 


Issue #75

Peter Green / Ivar Bjørnson

Out Now

Read the Mag