Guitar Interactive Magazine toggle menu

Music News

Eagle Rock Announces Status Quo 'Bula Quo!'

Eagle Rock Announces Status Quo 'Bula Quo!' -

Status Quo will release their new double album, 'Bula Quo!' via earMUSIC/Edel/Eagle Rock Entertainment on July 9 2013

'Bula Quo!' has been inspired by their incredible adventures filming their first ever feature-film of the same title. The first disc features nine brand new tracks, written as the soundtrack for the duo's madcap escapades in the movie. Disc 2 contains exclusive reworked studio songs or live versions of 10 classic Quo hits, which are also featured in the film (including an amazing Fijian-style rendition of "Living On An Island").

Status Quo is enjoying an exciting phase in their long and successful career, after the critical acclaim and the support received by their loyal audience for their previous studio album Quid Pro Quo and the relative tour. The 90-minute action movie Bula Quo! features the band as themselves and stars Craig Fairbrass [Cliff Hanger, Rise Of The Footsoldier, Eastenders] and Laura Aikman [Keith Lemon The Movie, Freight, Surviving Picasso] with Jon Lovitz [Saturday Night Live, The Critic, Friends, The Wedding Singer]. The film was directed by Stuart St. Paul, who has worked on projects ranging from Duran Duran's seminal "Wild Boys" video, to Aliens, Batman and three James Bond films. The movie will hit the stores and theaters soon after summer.

"Making the film in Fiji was a fantastic experience and we couldn't help but be inspired by our surroundings," states vocalist/lead guitarist Francis Rossi. "We had no plans to write and release a new studio album as well as filming our parts for the movie, it just happened."

Adds singer/rhythm guitarist Rick Parfitt:

"We hope that Quo fans will enjoy the film, which is certainly something new for the band, but we know they are going to love the music."

As the new material sounds inspired and fresh, it is one album not to be missed and the film is destined to become a cult for Quo fans. For everybody else… Bula Quo! will "simply" be one of their strongest releases ever!

CD1 - The New Album

1. Looking Out For Caroline
2. GoGoGo
3. Run and Hide (The Gun Song)
4. Running Inside My Head
5. Mystery Island
6. All That Money
7. Never Leave A Friend Behind
8. Fiji Time
9. Bula Bula Quo (Kua Ni Lega)

CD2 - Studio and Live

1. Living On An Island (Fiji Style)
2. Frozen Hero
3. Reality Cheque
4. Rockin' All Over The World (Bula Edit)
5. Caroline (Live)
6. Beginning Of The End (Live)
7. Don't Drive My Car (Live)
8. Pictures Of Matchstick Men (Live)
9. Whatever You Want (Live)
10. Down Down (Live)

Status Quo 'Bula Quo!'

 Bula Quo


Issue #76

Black Stone Cherry | Eddie Van Halen Tribute

Out Now

Read the Mag