Guitar Interactive Magazine toggle menu

Music News

Epitaph DVD/Blu-Ray Artwork, Tracklisting, Release Date Revealed

Epitaph DVD/Blu-Ray Artwork, Tracklisting, Release Date Revealed -

Heavy metal legends Judas Priest will celebrate their 40th anniversary this year with the release of concert DVD 'Epitaph.'

The unique live career retrospective, 'Epitaph' is to be made available on Blu-ray and separate DVD from May 28 through Legacy Recordings. The release precedes the Birmingham metal icons brand new studio album which the band are currently working. 

The 'Epitaph' DVD features the climactic closing date of the 50-week mammoth 'Epitaph' world tour, recorded at London's HMV Hammersmith Apollo on May 26, 2012.

The 23 tracks included represent at least one track from each of the band's 14 studio albums including 'Never Satisfied,' 'Metal Gods,' 'Hell Bent For Leather,' 'You've Got Another Thing Coming' and 'Living After Midnight.'

"They have epitomized the genre with their Harley riding frontman, rapid-fire guitar assaults, and spectacular stage shows," wrote journalist Bryan Reesman in his liner notes for 2004's leather-bound, metal-spiked"Metalogy" box set.

"Influential, innovative, and exuberant in expression," he wrote, "they are the true Metal Gods who have been as unwavering in their desire to expand the boundaries of their music as they have been in crossing international borders to deliver it to their disciples.

"Unabashedly committed to their cause, and unrepentant in proclaiming themselves a true heavy metal band even when others have shied away from the term, Judas Priest have forever been defenders of the faith."

'Epitaph' track listing

01. Battle Hymn (L)
02. Rapid Fire (F)
03. Metal Gods (F)
04. Heading Out To The Highway (G)
05. Judas Rising (M)
06. Starbreaker (C)
07. Victim Of Changes (B)
08. Never Satisfied (A)
09. Diamonds And Rust (C)
10. Prophecy (N)
11. Night Crawler (L)
12. Turbo Lover (J)
13. Beyond The Realms Of Death (D)
14. The Sentinel (I)
15. Blood Red Skies (K)
16. The Green Manalishi (With The Two-Pronged Crown) (E)
17. Breaking The Law (F)
18. Painkiller (L)
19. The Hellion (H)
20. Electric Eye (H)
21. Hell Bent For Leather (E)
22. You've Got Another Thing Coming (H)
23. Living After Midnight (F)


Epitaph DVD


Issue #76

Black Stone Cherry | Eddie Van Halen Tribute

Out Now

Read the Mag