Guitar Interactive Magazine toggle menu

Music News

Tom Waits & Keith Richards Pair Up for New Track 'Shenandoah'

Tom Waits & Keith Richards Pair Up for New Track 'Shenandoah' -

A new collection of songs entitled 'Son of Rogue's Gallery: Pirate Ballads, Sea Songs & Chanteys' will feature a new track composed by Tom Waits and Keith Richards.

The battle-hardened rockers teamed up to record 'Shenandoah,' currently available to stream at NPR (via HenneMusic).

The compilation is due on 19th February and, asides frm Richards and Waits, will also feature Nick Cave, Bryan Ferry, Sting, Bono, Jolie Hollan, Jarvis Cocker, Lou Reed, Dr.John & Iggy Pop amongst others.

The two-disc album is a follow up to Hal Willner's 2006 production 'Rogue's Gallery: Pirate Ballads, Sea Songs and Chanteys.'

Willner dreamt up the idea for Rogue's Gallery compilations with actor Johnny Depp and film director Gore Verbinski whilst filming Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest.

"About a year ago I secretly thought we would never finish," says Willner. "As easy as volume 1 was to coordinate, this was the opposite, but it is a very different record than volume 1. This one seems…happier? Not as much about torture, sodomy and death, which will disappoint some but, we don't need to repeat ourselves do we?"

'Son of Rogue's Gallery: Pirate Ballads, Sea Songs & Chanteys'

Disc 1:

01. Leaving of Liverpool (Shane MacGowan w/Johnny Depp & Gore Verbinski)
02. Sam's Gone Away (Robyn Hitchcock)
03. River Come Down (Beth Orton)
04. Row Bullies Row (Sean Lennon w/Jack Shit)#
05. Shenandoah (Tom Waits w/Keith Richards)
06. Mr. Stormalong (Ivan Neville)
07. Asshole Rules the Navy (Iggy Pop w/A Hawk and a Hacksaw)
08. Off to Sea Once More (Macy Gray)
09. The Ol' OG (Ed Harcourt)
10. Pirate Jenny (Shilpa Ray w/Nick Cave & Warren Ellis)
11. The Mermaid (Patti Smith & Johnny Depp)
12. Anthem for Old Souls (Chuck E. Weiss)
13. Orange Claw Hammer (Ed Pastorini)
14. Sweet and Low (The Americans)
15. Ye Mariners All (Robin Holcomb & Jessica Kenny)
16. Tom's Gone to Hilo (Gavin Friday and Shannon McNally)
17. Bear Away (Kenny Wollesen & The Himalayas Marching Band)

Disc 2:

01. Handsome Cabin Boy (Frank Zappa & the Mothers of Invention)
02. Rio Grande (Michael Stipe & Courtney Love)
03. Ship in Distress (Marc Almond)
04. In Lure of the Tropics (Dr. John)
05. Rolling Down to Old Maui (Todd Rundgren)
06. Jack Tar on Shore (Dan Zanes w/Broken Social Scene)
07. Sally Racket (Sissy Bounce (Katey Red & Big Freedia) with Akron/Family)
08. Wild Goose (Broken Social Scene)
09. Flandyke Shore (Marianne Faithfull w/Kate & Anna McGarrigle)
10. The Chantey of Noah and his Ark (Old School Song) (Ricky Jay)
11. Whiskey Johnny (Michael Gira)
12. Sunshine Life for Me (Petra Haden w/Lenny Pickett)
13. Row the Boat Child (Jenni Muldaur)
14. General Taylor (Richard Thompson w/Jack Shit)
15. Marianne (Tim Robbins w/Matthew Sweet & Susanna Hoffs)
16. Barnacle Bill the Sailor (Kembra Phaler w/Antony/Joseph Arthur/Foetus)
17. Missus McGraw (Angelica Huston w/The Weisberg Strings)
18. The Dreadnought (Iggy Pop & Elegant Too)
19. Then Said the Captain to Me (Two Poems of the Sea) (Mary Margaret O'Hara)


Issue #74

Jim Root

Out Now

Read the Mag