Guitar Interactive Magazine toggle menu

Music News

Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds to Release New Album in 2013

Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds to Release New Album in 2013 -

The 15th studio offering from Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds will be released next February, reports Slicing Up Eyeballs.

The nine-track album, entitled 'Push the Sky Away,' was recorded by the band's longterm producer, Nick Launay at the prestigious La Fabrique studios in the South of France.

The album will be released on 18th Feb in the UK and will be available as standard CD and vinyl release, plus CD/DVD and as part of a super deluxe box set that will include the album on disc and vinyl, a DVD, two 7-inch singles and a 120-page replica of Cave's handwritten notebooks.

Of the record, Cave writes his website:

"Well, if I were to use that threadbare metaphor of albums being like children, then Push The Sky Away is the ghost-baby in the incubator and Warren's loops are its tiny, trembling heart-beat. … I enter the studio with a handful of ideas, unformed and pupal; it's the Bad Seeds that transform them into things of wonder. Ask anyone who has seen them at work. They are unlike any other band on earth for pure, instinctive inventiveness."

All of the pre-orders include a free download of "We No Who U R" on Monday, when the song also will be released for sale via traditional online retailers.

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, 'Push the Sky Away'

1. We No Who U R
2. Wide Lovely Eyes
3. Water's Edge
4. Jubilee Street
5. Mermaids
6. We Real Cool
7. Finishing Jubilee Street
8. Higgs Boson Blues
9. Push The Sky Away


Issue #75

Peter Green / Ivar Bjørnson

Out Now

Read the Mag