Guitar Interactive Magazine toggle menu

Music News

Classic Rock Roll of Honour 2012 Winners Revealed

Classic Rock Roll of Honour 2012 Winners Revealed -

The eighth annual Orange Amplification Classic Rock Roll of Honour 2012 gala took place at London's Roundhouse last night.

The event, which was hosted by Duff McKgan, saw some of the world's greatest rock icons, performers, musicians and songwriters fill the acclaimed Camden venue which also featured Motley Crue bassist Nikki Sixx presenting his Sixx Sense show from the ceremony.

That little ol' band from Texas, ZZ Top were presented with the 'Living Legend Award' by last year's winner, Jeff Beck and join Jimmy Page, Alice Cooper and Iggy Pop as winners of the coveted award. 

Among the other winners were Canadian prog-legends Rush who won 'Album of the Year' and 'Band of the Year', Pink Floyd who were awarded 'Film/DVD of the Year' and 'Reissue of the Year' and Status Quo who picked up 'Classic Album.'

UK punk veterans The Damned were awarded for their 'Outstanding Contribution' to rock and Rival Sons won 'Breakthrough Act.'

New York thrashers Anthrax were named 'Metal Gurus' and manager Tony Smith was named 'VIP.' The late, great Jon Lord was given the prestigious 'Tommy Vance Inspiration Award.'

Lynyrd Skynyrd, who won the 'Comeback Award,' alos played a 30-minute set for invited guests at an after gala dinner.

Classic Rock editor in chief Scott Rowley said:

"You would never know it from listening to the radio or watching TV - but while you were all getting excited about Psy and Fun and Nicki Minaj, it's actually been a great year for new rock music.

"We've heard brilliant new albums from ZZ Top, Rush, Aerosmith, Kiss, Springsteen, Slash, Lynyrd Skynyrd and Van Halen.

"Some great new artists are coming in to their own: Rivals Sons, Tracer, Howlin' Rain, Gary Clark Jr - the list goes on."

Classic Rock Roll of Honour 2012

The Living Legend Award (Sponsored by Orange Amplification): ZZ Top
Event Of The Year (Sponsored by Roadrunner): Ginger Raises £250k
Breakthrough Act Of The Year (sponsored by Olympus): Rival Sons
The Musicians' Union Maestro Award: Phil Manzanera
Tommy Vance Inspiration Award (Sponsored by Lewis Leathers): Jon Lord
Classic Songwriter Award (Sponsored by Sennheiser): Russ Ballard
Outstanding Contribution (sponsored by Monitor Audio): The Damned
Classic Album Award (sponsored by Eagle Rock): Status Quo 'Live!'
V.I.P. Award (sponsored by Tony Smith
Metal Guru Award (sponsored by Mascot Label Group): Anthrax
Best New Band (sponsored by Kraken): Tracer
Album Of The Year: Rush 'Clockwork Angels'
Reissue Of The Year (sponsored by Alchemy): Pink Floyd's 'Immersion'
Film/DVD Award: Pink Floyd 'The Story Of Wish You Were Here'
Band Of The Year (sponsored by Live Nation): Rush
Spirit Of Prog Award (sponsored by USM / UMC): Family
Showman Of The Year (sponsored by Rimowa): Nikki Sixx
Comeback Award (Sponsored by Jeffery West): Lynyrd Skynyrd


Issue #76

Black Stone Cherry | Eddie Van Halen Tribute

Out Now

Read the Mag