Guitar Interactive Magazine toggle menu

Music News

Trinity College London Launches New Guitar Syllabus for 2013 – 2014

Trinity College London Launches New Guitar Syllabus for 2013 - 2014 -

The 2013-2014 Guitar syllabus (Initial to Grade 8), one of seven new syllabuses from Trinity College London is now available. With an updated design and layout, the new syllabus includes refreshed repertoire covering a range of styles. The 2013-2014 syllabus is valid from January 2013; however, repertoire from the current syllabus will also remain valid throughout 2013.

Much of the repertoire is contained within Trinity's Examination Pieces and Exercises for Guitar. These publications will continue to support these exams for the duration of the syllabus.

In addition to full details about the graded exams, the new syllabus includes details of Trinity's innovative Certificate exams. These exams offer candidates the opportunity to create a programme and perform as a soloist, in a group or as an ensemble, at Foundation, Intermediate and Advanced levels.

Trinity's Chief Examiner for Music, Nicholas Keyworth said:

"We are delighted with this new syllabus, which helps learners to prepare for both Classical and Plectrum Guitar exams. Trinity is committed to supporting teaching and learning more effectively and giving candidates an even greater range of choices as they are preparing for their exams."

The new Guitar syllabus, along with the new 2013-2014 syllabuses for Woodwind, Jazz Woodwind, Strings, Electronic Keyboard and Organ, Brass and Singing, are available to download at and printed copies are available from your Trinity College London Centre. . For further information and a range of supporting resources, please visit




Issue #75

Peter Green / Ivar Bjørnson

Out Now

Read the Mag