Guitar Interactive Magazine toggle menu

Music News

Marty Friedman to Reissue 'Tokyo Jukebox Vol.1 & 2' in North America

Marty Friedman to Reissue 'Tokyo Jukebox Vol.1 & 2' in North America -

Following on from the recent Marty Friedman reissues by label home Prosthetic Records over the summer, the heavy metal specialists have revealed they now plan to releases both 'Tokyo Jukebox' albums across North America on Nov.20. 

First released in Japan in 2009 and 2011, respectively, 'Tokyo Jukebox Vols. 1 & 2,' which represent the 9th and 11th chapters in Friedman's storied solo discography, will make their U.S. debut as a limited-edition, specially-priced 2CD release featuring exclusive artwork and new liner notes by the ex-Megadeth & Cacophony guitarist.

The self-produced and self-arranged 'Tokyo Jukebox' concept album features reconstructed covers of J-pop and J-Rock hits selected by readers of Japan's top entertainment magazine. 'Tokyo Jukebox 2,' meanwhile, was recorded in Los Angeles at The Village (Aerosmith, Kiss) with guest performances by Jason Bittner (Shadows Fall) and Keshav Dhar (Skyharbor). The albums feature tracks originally performed by acclaimed Japanese acts such as Mr. Children, SMAP, Perfume and Maximum the Hormone.

Friedman recently announced a string of European tour dates with Yossi Sassi and Stephan Forte as support - Tickets for the six upcoming shows are on sale now at this location.

Friedman issued the following message regarding the tour:

"Yossi and I became friends on my 2011 solo tour, we came up with the idea of putting together a concert tour with decidedly unique and exotic guitarists, each from a different part of the world with their own ethnic sound and approach to their music. I didn`t know just how cool Middle Eastern flavors could mix with amazing rock guitar playing until I heard Yossi Sassi, I was quite impressed. Stephan Forte will give you an idea what an absolute guitar wizard from France sounds like. The tour will happen in October and everyone is in for a once in a lifetime collection of artists from separate corners of the world, and a truly inspiring treat."

The complete tour schedule is as follows:


9 - Colmar, France - Le Grillen
10 - Zoetermeer, Holland - Boerderij
12 - London, UK - Underworld
13 - Dublin, Ireland - The Village
15 - Paris, France - Divan du Monde
16 - Nantes, France - Le Ferrailleur
17 - Bilbao, Spain - Kafe Antzokia
19 - Lisbon, Portugal - Side B
20 - Madrid, Spain - Ramdall
21 - Barcelona, Spain - Salamandra
22 - Toulouse, France - Connexion Live
23 - Montpellier, France - Secret Place
24 - Toulon, France - Le Vox
25 - Prato, Italy - Keller Platz
26 - Milan, Italy - Carlito's Way  

Marty Friedman sends Guitar Interactive fans a special message regarding his London show which takes place on October 12th at London's Underworld.



Issue #74

Jim Root

Out Now

Read the Mag