Guitar Interactive Magazine toggle menu

Music News

Neil Young & Crazy Horse 'Psychedelic Pill' Due in October

Neil Young & Crazy Horse 'Psychedelic Pill' Due in October -

Neil Young & Crazy Horse have today (Sept.11) announced they are to release their brand-new double album, 'Psychedelic Pill' on October 30th, reports Ultimate Classic Rock.

The album, which will mark the second studio effort of the year for Young, features 9 tracks spread out over the two discs including a new mix of the title track which has been included as a bonus.

Crazy Horse guitarist Frank "Poncho" Sampedro previously said of the new disc (via Rolling Stone):

"It's us jamming and having lots of fun. I think that [former Crazy Horse producer] David Briggs would be proud of it . . . Once he was gone, I felt like we lost our compass a bit. We had the sound and we had the big machine, and we could play anything and play pretty good, but we weren't putting any great records together. I mean, Broken Arrow was OK. It wasn't like Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere or Rust Never Sleeps or Ragged Glory."

Asides from the double-disc, there will also be a triple-vinyl edition of the new album available due to the lengths of many the tracks, some of which were previewed in Crazy Horse's live performances this past August.

'Psychedelic Pill' Track Listing

Disc 1

1. 'Driftin Back'
2. 'Psychedelic Pill'
3. 'Ramada Inn'
4. 'Born In Ontario'

Disc 2

1. 'Twisted Road'
2. 'She's Always Dancing'
3. 'For The Love Of Man'
4. 'Walk Like A Giant'
5. 'Psychedelic Pill' (Bonus Track Alternate Mix)



Issue #74

Jim Root

Out Now

Read the Mag