Guitar Interactive Magazine toggle menu

Music News

Megadeth to Release 20th Anniversary Edition of 'Countdown To Extinction'

Megadeth to Release 20th Anniversary Edition of 'Countdown To Extinction' -

Megadeth are set to re-release one of their most popular albums to date in celebration of the record's 20th anniversary.

The album, 'Countdown To Extinction,' will be released as a double CD set and digital album on November.6 through Capitol/EMI. The 20th anniversary edition of the album will come packaged in a lift top box and will feature a remastered version along with a second disc compiling of an entire live set recorded in 1992 at San Francisco's Cow Palace.

Liner notes have also been written by music journalist Kory Grow, and the reissue includes a 24 x 36 poster and four postcards featuring head shots of each member from the Countdown line-up.

The album was Megadeth's fifth studio album and was recorded in 1992. It received an official release on July 14th 1992 and to date is still the Megadeth's bestselling album. It was nominated for 'Best Metal Performance' at the 1993 Grammy Awards and the title track of album won the Humane Society's Genesis Award.

'Countdown to Extinction' was the second album featuring the Dave Mustaine/Dave Ellefson/Nick Menza/Marty Friedman line-up. It was produced by Mustaine and Max Norman at The Enterprise in Burbank, California and was pre-produced by Ryan Greene.

'Countdown to Extinction' 20th Anniversary Edition:

CD 1:

1. Skin O' My Teeth
2. Symphony Of Destruction
3. Architecture Of Aggression
4. Foreclosure Of A Dream
5. Sweating Bullets
6. This Was My Life
7. Countdown To Extinction
8. High Speed Dirt
9. Psychotron
10. Captive Honour
11. Ashes In Your Mouth

CD 2 - Live At Cow Palace, 1992:

1. Intro
2. Holy Wars…The Punishment Due
3. Skin O' My Teeth
4. Wake Up Dead
5. Hangar 18
6. Countdown To Extinction
7. Foreclosure Of A Dream
8. This Was My Life
9. Lucretia
10. Sweating Bullets
11. In My Darkest Hour
12. The Conjuring
13. Tornado
14. Ashes In Your Mouth
15. Symphony Of Destruction 



Issue #75

Peter Green / Ivar Bjørnson

Out Now

Read the Mag