Guitar Interactive Magazine toggle menu

Music News

Deep Purple To Release 40th-Anniversary 'Machine Head' Box Set In October

EMI has set an October 8 European release  date for the 40th-anniversary edition of  DEEP PURPLE's classic 1972  album "Machine Head". This five-disc special edition will be accompanied with a fully illustrated 60-page hardback booklet, housed in a luxury box. 

Contents include:

* CD1:  "Machine Head" original album 2012 remaster
* CD2: 1997 remix by  DEEP PURPLE bassist  Roger Glover
* CD3: Original album Quad SQ stereo (2012 remaster)
* CD4: "In Concert '72" - 2012 Mix (recorded live at Paris  Theatre, London on March 9, 1972)
DVD: 2012 high-resolution remaster and surround mix

Booklet features: 

* Detailed essays from original bassist  Roger Glover and  Mojo magazine editor  Phil Alexander.
* Quotations from  DEEP PURPLE fans  Mikael Åkerfeldt Luke Morley,Sebastian Vettel Eddie Jordan Brian Tatler Janick Gers and  Peter Hook.
* An interview with famed photographer  Didi Zill, whose  photos of the legendary recording sessions in Switzerland illustrate the booklet.


Issue #74

Jim Root

Out Now

Read the Mag