Guitar Interactive Magazine toggle menu

Music News

Death Cab For Cutie's Ben Gibbard Releases New Solo Track

Death Cab For Cutie's Ben Gibbard Releases New Solo Track -

Death Cab For Cutie head Ben Gibbard has released a new track entitled, 'Teardrop Windows' under his new solo guise, Benjamin Gibbard.

Gibbard, whose other musical projects include The Postal Service, ¡All-Time Quarterback! & Pinwheel, penned the track as a tribute to Seattle's iconic Smith Tower.

Speaking about the song, Gibbard says:

"To me, it represents the things we take for granted when something newer, bigger and flashier comes into our lives."

'Teardrop Windows' is set to feature on his forthcoming debut solo LP, 'Former Lives' which will be released on Nov.12, reports NME.

Gibbard has also revealed the title and tracklisting for the new album and went on to explain some of the inspiration behind it, he said:

 "These songs span eight years, three relationships, living in two different places, drinking then not drinking," he said. "They're a side story, not a new chapter."

"Every song I've ever written, my relationship to it has changed over the years," he added. "That's not meant to be cagey, it's the absolute truth. With these songs, there's going to be a lot of time between when they were written and when people are finally going to hear them."

The tracklisting for 'Former Lives' is as follows:

'Shepherd's Bush Lullaby'
'Dream Song'
'Teardrop Windows'
'Bigger Than Love'
'Something's Rattling (Cowpoke)'
'Duncan, Where Have You Gone?'
'Oh, Woe'
'A Hard One To Know'
'Lady Adelaide'
'Broken Yolk In Western Sky'
'I'm Building A Fire'


Issue #75

Peter Green / Ivar Bjørnson

Out Now

Read the Mag