Guitar Interactive Magazine toggle menu

Music News

Frank Zappa’s Extensive Back Catalogue Receive Full Reissue Treatment

Frank Zappa's Extensive Back Catalogue to Receive Full Reissue Treatment -

In what will be a mammoth reissue campaign, Universal Music Enterprise and the Zappa Family Trust are set to reissue the extensive back catalogue of Baltimore Psych-Rock legend, Frank Zappa, reports Consequence of Sound.

Throughout  the rest of the year (2012), as part of a new licensing and distribution agreement between Universal & the Zappa Trust, Zappa's sixty plus recordings will be released as they appeared on Zappa's own independent label, Barking Pumpkin Records.

The first 12 releases, which include Zappa's 1966 debut Freak Out! and his concert album series No Commercial Potential, will be available on July 31st - See the full list below.

The remaining releases will be released monthly through the end of 2012.

1. Freak Out! (1966)
2. Absolutely Free (1967)
3. Lumpy Gravy (1968)
4. We're Only In It For The Money (1968)
5. Cruising With Ruben & The Jets (1968)
6. Uncle Meat (1969)
7. Hot Rats (1969)
8. Burnt Weeny Sandwich (1970)
9. Weasels Ripped My Flesh (1970)
10. Chunga's Revenge (1970)
11. Fillmore East, June 1971 (1971)
12. Just Another Band From L.A. (1972)



Issue #75

Peter Green / Ivar Bjørnson

Out Now

Read the Mag