Guitar Interactive Magazine toggle menu

Music News

Great White Guitarist Mark Kendall Talks Split With Jack Russell

Mark Kendall, guitarist with LA hard-rockers Great White has spoken to DJ Tyson of the 98.7 Gater radio station in West Palm Beach, Florida about the band's upcoming tour and their soon to be released album, 'Elation'. The album will be the first to feature Terry Ilous on vocals following the band's split with original singer, Jack Russell.

"The energy in the studio is amazing," Kendall said. "This is the most excited I've been since I was nine years old and got my first guitar. It's remarkable to be doing our third record with Frontiers Records and to feel the love and support from Serafino and his team. They are truly part of the GREAT WHITE family."

Great White, now featuring Kendall, Scott Snyder (bass), Audie Desbrow (drums), Michael Lardie (guitar, keyboards) and Terry Ilous (lead vocals) - will release "Elation" in North America on May 22 via Frontiers Records.

"This is a new birth of the band," Desbrow said. "I wanted to call the album 'Tabula Rasa', which means rebirth, but we went for 'Elation' because of the euphoria in the atmosphere. It's a fresh and healthier start than ever before. I'm like a kid in a candy store."

Lardie, who also acted as "Elation"'s producer, spoke enthusiastically about the groups songwriting approach and the positive teamwork that ran throughout the 'Elation' sessions. "The difference in this studio experience was simple," he said. "Everyone was completely present and contributed to the making of this album. As a producer, I feel my part is to get the best out of each of us and I got better than anyone's best!"


"Elation" track listing:

01. (I've Got) Something For You

02. Feelin' So Much Better

03. Love Train

04. Heart Of A Man

05. Hard To Say Goodbye

06. Resolution

07. Shotgun Willie's

08. Promise Land

09. Lowdown (bonus track)

10. Just For Tonight

11. Love Is Enough

12. Complicated

This version of GREAT WHITE is not to be confused with JACK RUSSELL'S GREAT WHITE, which features Russell alongside Robby Lochner (FIGHT) on guitar, Matthew Johnson (DOCTOR M, JACK RUSSELL) on guitar, Dario Seixas (FIREHOUSE, STEPHEN PEARCY) on bass and Derrick Pontier (GREAT WHITE, SAMANTHA 7) on drums.








Issue #74

Jim Root

Out Now

Read the Mag