Shaun Morgan: Vicennial – 2 Decades of Seether  | INTERVIEW

Published 2 months ago on December 13, 2023

By Jonathan Graham

Since forming in Pretoria, South Africa, in 1999, Seether has amassed a global fan base that has grown organically, offering their fans camaraderie, comfort, and a sense of personal power around the world. Their impressive sales and chart history includes three platinum and two gold albums, 17 #1 singles, 21 Top 5 multi-format hits, single sales topping 17 million and over 2 billion streams worldwide across all platforms. To celebrate these achievements and mark the group's 20th anniversary, Seether released Vicennial – 2 Decades of Seether earlier this year—Gi chats with Shaun Morgan about this incredible collection.

Seether's latest album 'Vicennial – 2 Decades of Seether' tells the remarkable story of the South African quartet's career and chart-topping success. The 20 songs on this compilation have amassed 16 #1 chart positions, and all are Top 5 multi-format radio hits. This collection is an audio summary of the first 20 years of Billboard's #8 All-Time Mainstream Rock Artist, which covers the 40-year history of the chart's existence. The album, out now worldwide via Craft Recordings, was carefully curated by frontman Shaun Morgan and highlights tracks from his band's eighth full-length albums — including early breakthrough singles "Broken" and "Fine Again"; the recent #1 on both the Rock and Active Rock charts, "Dangerous"; as well as their fan-favourite cover of Wham's "Careless Whisper."

Comprising of Shaun Morgan, Dale Stewart, John Humphrey and Corey Lowery—Seether is Billboard's #8 All-Time Mainstream Rock Artist, which covers the 40-year history of the chart's existence. Their most recent album (the band's eighth), the acclaimed 'Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum (If You Want Peace, Prepare for War),' was released in 2020 via Fantasy Records. A primal mix of euphoria and misery, the album's material ranks among the strongest of Seether's illustrious career and includes the #1 singles "Dangerous" and "Bruised and Bloodied." In addition to its work in music, Seether also created the 'Rise Above Fest' to raise awareness for suicide prevention and mental illness.

Seether has aways remained true to its roots while maintaining enough forward-thinking momentum to stay relevant, and 'Vicennial' is the perfect showcase of that achievement. The group broke into the mainstream in 2002 with the rock hit "Fine Again" and cemented their status at the fore of the scene two years later with the international hit "Broken," which featured guest vocals from Amy Lee of Evanescence. Subsequent singles like 2005's "Remedy" and 2007's "Fake It" charted high for such a heavy band, while Seether's full-length work also proved popular: 2011's Holding Onto Strings Better Left to Fray and 2014's Isolate and Medicate both reached the Top Five in the U.S. The group continued to find success into the next decade, releasing their acclaimed and the aforementioned eighth long-player, Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum, in 2020.

Known for their dedication to their fans, the latest release saw Seether select fan-submitted artwork for the 'Vicennial' album cover. Available now digitally and on CD, a Seether.com exclusive 1,500-unit limited-edition custom mixed opaque purple 2-LP vinyl can be pre-ordered now for its January 7 release date.

Reflecting on the band's career, singer Shaun Morgan says, "Twenty years is a major milestone for us; we've been on an amazing ride - alongside our fans - and we plan to continue that journey. Putting Vicennial together gave us a chance to look back on our body of work over the years and to rediscover some of our older songs during the pandemic that brought us all to a standstill. We hope that everyone enjoys the compilation as much as we do now, after this historic lockdown, and we look forward to seeing our fans again at live shows in the future."

To top off a great year for the band, recently Seether was the newest addition to the Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame's popular "Right Here Right Now" exhibit, joining other luminaries in the exhibit including Billie Eilish, Lady Gaga, Harry Styles, Alabama Shakes, Taylor Swift, The Lumineers, Kacey Musgraves and The Weeknd.

Seether's 'Vicennial ' is out now worldwide via Craft Recordings,.


Seether — 'Vicennial - 2 Decades Of Seether' Tracklist:


  1. Fake It
  2. Remedy
  3. Fine Again
  4. Broken
  5. Words As Weapons
  6. Country Song
  7. Let You Down
  8. Rise Above This
  9. Weak
  10. Tonight
  11. Nobody Praying for Me
  12. Careless Whisper
  13. Truth
  14. Gasoline
  15. Betray and Degrade
  16. Breakdown
  17. Same Damn Life
  18. The Gift
  19. Driven Under
  20. Dangerous


For more information on Shaun Morgan and Seether, visit:




Shaun Morgan: Vicennial – 2 Decades of Seether  | INTERVIEW
Seymour’s Studio - Jeff Beck's Fender Esquire guitar | INTERVIEW
Elixir Artist Spotlight: Marcus King | Lesson Feature
Jared James Nichols on Playing Inspiration, Technique, Signature Gear & More | Interview
Top magnifiercross linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram