Smashing Pumpkins Announce 'Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness' Deluxe Reissue

Published 11 years ago on October 3, 2012

By Guitar Interactive Magazine

Smashing Pumpkins Announce 'Mellon Collie and theInfinite Sadness' Deluxe Reissue -

Billy Corgan has announced a mammothreissue of the Smashing Pumpkins classic 1995double album, 'Mellon Collie and the InfiniteSadness', reports PitchFork.

The album, which was the Smashing Pumpkinsthird record and includes tracks such as 'Bullet with ButterflyWings', 'Tonight Tonight' and '1979', willbe re-mastered and will be available on 4xLP vinyl, 2xCD, digitallyand as a deluxe 5xCD+DVD box set, which will feature no less than106 tracks.

Included on the 5xCD box set, asides from the 64 newly polishedtracks, are unheard demos, live takes, alternate mixes of tracksfrom the Mellon Collie era and enough bonus material to feature ona separate three discs, entitled 'Morning Tea', 'HighTea' & 'Special Tea.' Also bundled in willbe two books featuring liner notes, lyrics, collages and a uniquedecoupage kit which can be used to create scenes from the MellonCollie universe.

The CD box set also includes a DVD featuring a 1996 concert atLondon's Brixton Academy, plus a short 1996 performance from theGerman television program 'Rockpalast'.

The announcement follows the recent reissues of'Gish', 'SiameseDream', and 'PiscesIscariot' as well as the band's 2012 album'Oceania.'

'Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness'reissue will be released on December 4th in North America andDecember 3rd internationally through EMI.

'Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness'tracklisting 

'Dawn to Dusk' (CD1):

01 Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness
02 Tonight, Tonight
03 Jellybelly
04 Zero
05 Here Is No Why
06 Bullet With Butterfly Wings
07 To Forgive
08 An Ode to No One
09 Love
10 Cupid De Locke
11 Galapogos
12 Muzzle
13 Porcelina of the Vast Oceans
14 Take Me Down

'Twilight to Starlight' (CD2):

01 Where Boys Fear to Tread
02 Bodies
03 Thirty-Three
04 In the Arms of Sleep
05 1979
06 Tales of a Scorched Earth
07 Thru the Eyes of Ruby
08 Stumbleine
09 X.Y.U.
10 We Only Come Out at Night
11 Beautiful
12 Lily (My One and Only)
13 By Starlight
14 Farewell and Goodnight

'Morning Tea' (CD3):

01 Tonight, Tonight (Strings Alone mix)
02 Methusela *
03 X.Y.U. (Take 11)
04 Zero (Synth mix)
05 Feelium *
06 Autumn Nocturne *
07 Beautiful (Loop version)
08 Ugly *
09 Ascending Guitars *
10 By Starlight (Flood rough)
11 Medellia of the Gray Skies (Take 1)
12 Lover (Arrangement 1 demo)
13 Thru the Eyes Of Ruby (Take 7)
14 In the Arms of Sleep (Early Live demo)
15 Lily (My One And Only) *
16 1979 *
17 Glamey Glamey *
18 Meladori Magpie
19 Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness (Home Pianoversion)
20 Galapagos (Instrumental) *
21 To Forgive *

'High Tea' (CD4):

01 Bullet With Butterfly Wings *
02 Set the Ray to Jerry (Vocal Rough)
03 Thirty-Three *
04 Cupid De Locke (BT 2012 mix)
05 Porcelina of the Vast Oceans (Live Studio rough)
06 Jellybelly (Instrumental/Pit mix 3)
07 The Aeroplane Flies High (Turns Left, Looks Right)
08 Jupiter's Lament (Barbershop version)
09 Bagpipes Drone *
10 Tonight, Tonight (Band Version Only, No Strings)
11 Knuckles (Studio outtake)
12 Pennies
13 Here Is No Why (Pumpkinland demo)
14 Blast (Fuzz version)
15 Towers of Rabble (Live)
16 Rotten Apples
17 Fun Time *
18 Thru the Eyes Of Ruby (Acoustic version)
19 Chinoise *
20 Speed

'Special Tea' (CD 5):

01 Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness (Nighttime version1)
02 Galapagos *
03 Cherry (BT 2012 mix)
04 Love (Flood rough)
05 New Waver *
06 Fuck You (an ode to no one) (Production Master rough)
07 Isolation (BT 2012 mix)
08 Transformer (Early mix)
09 Dizzle *
10 Goodnight (Basic Vocal rough)
11 Eye (Soundworks demo)
12 Blank *
13 Beautiful (Instrumental-Middle 8)
14 My Blue Heaven (BT 2012 mix)
15 One and Two
16 Zoom (7 ips)
17 Pastichio Medley (Reversed extras)
18 Marquis in Spades (BT 2012 mix)
19 Tales of a Scorched Earth (Guitar Overdub mix)
20 Tonite Reprise (Version 1)
21 Wishing You Were Real (Home demo)
22 Thru the Eyes of Ruby (Pit mix 3)
23 Phang *

* Sadlands demo


Live at Brixton Academy, London, 5/15/96:

01 Tonight, Tonight
02 1979
03 Zero
04 Here Is No Why
05 Thru the Eyes of Ruby
06 Porcelina of the Vast Oceans
07 Jellybelly
08 Silverfuck
09 Disarm
10 Bullet With Butterfly Wings

Live at Rockpalast, 4/7/96:

11 Fuck You (An Ode to No One)
12 Muzzle
13 Cherub Rock
14 X.Y.U.




Jeff Beck Has Died. Legendary Grammy-Winning Guitarist, Dead at 78
Watch Crobot's Latest Video "Kiss It Goodbye" Featuring Howard Jones (Light The Torch/Killswitch Engage) — New EP Rat Child Out Now
TERAMAZE Unveil Official Video For 'Fight Or Flight'
Diamond Head - Unveil Much Anticipated Title Track "The Coffin Train"
Top magnifiercross linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram