Martin Barre Announce Studio Album Featuring Tull Classics

Published 9 years ago on August 11, 2014

By Jonathan Graham

In response to demand by fans, Jethro Tull's Martin Barre has announced the release of ‘Order of Play’ on September 29th.

The album is the studio version of the acclaimed show which sees him performing Tull classics with his talented live band.

 “In January 2013, we headlined a festival in Somerset, UK. We wanted a live CD to be a summary of the last two years of our work and this was the idea opportunity. Fans had kept asking for a CD version of the show, but rather than record an actual gig, thought we would do something better and record ‘live in a studio’, with all the energy of a show but with the best sound quality possible. So, with the band in one place, and a couple of “days off” – explains Martin.

We met at Middle Farm Studio the next morning, set the back-line up as we do onstage, with Dan in a booth, as he, rightly, felt that it was important to record all his vocals live.  It was really important to keep the feel and continuity the same as a live gig. By the end of the day, we had all the songs finished.”

Martin Barre is one of the most influential and respected guitarists in classic rock history. His sound was recognized as a major factor in Jethro Tull’s success, they went on to sell over 60 million albums worldwide.

Over the past two years, Barre has performed live, some of Jethro Tull’s most loved classics, winning praise from both critics and fans.

Next to Barre, in charge of guitar and mandolin, we find an array of like-minded musicians including Dan Crisp on vocals, acoustic guitar and bouzouki, drummer George Lindsay, Richard Beesley on saxophone and clarinet who is one of London’s most versatile session players, having played with Michael Buble, Mark Ronson, the Funk Brothers and The Supremes among others. Bassist Alan Thomson is also a long term member of John Martyn’s Band and an accomplished song writer, with credits including Robert Palmer, Rick Wakeman, and Bo Diddley.

Martin Barre - Order of Play

1.     New Day Yesterday                 
2.     Fatman                                    
3.     Watch your Step                     
4.     Crossroads                             
5.     Minstrel in the Gallery              
6.     To Cry you a Song                  
7.     Steal your Heart Away              
8.     Thick as a Brick (excerpt)
9.    Sweet Dream                          
10.  Song for Jeffrey                     
11.  Rock me Baby                        
12.  Teacher                                   
13.  Still Loving you Tonight           
14.  Locomotive Breath                  



Jeff Beck Has Died. Legendary Grammy-Winning Guitarist, Dead at 78
Watch Crobot's Latest Video "Kiss It Goodbye" Featuring Howard Jones (Light The Torch/Killswitch Engage) — New EP Rat Child Out Now
TERAMAZE Unveil Official Video For 'Fight Or Flight'
Diamond Head - Unveil Much Anticipated Title Track "The Coffin Train"
Top magnifiercross linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram