Joe Bonamassa Releases New Album 'Driving Towards The Daylig

Published 11 years ago on May 23, 2012

By Guitar Interactive Magazine

Joe Bonamassa Releases New Album 'Driving Towards The Daylight'

Rising blues star Joe Bonamassa released his brand new album on Monday (May.21st) through Provogue Records marking the internationally renowned New Yorker's 13th studio effort. 

Recorded solely at The Village Recorder in Los Angeles, CA and Studio at the Palms in Las Vegas, NV, Driving Towards The Daylight is described as a 'balanced and back-to-basics album that highlights Bonamassa's signature style of blues, roots, and rock & roll.'

Driving Towards The Daylight was produced by Kevin "Caveman" Shirley (Black Crowes, Aerosmith, Led Zeppelin), making this Bonamassa and Shirley's seventh album collab in six years.

"We've taken some really traditional old blues songs - the Howlin' Wolf song 'Who's Been Talkin' and Robert Johnson's 'Stones In My Passway,'" says Shirley, "and we've tried to imagine how they would do them in a rock context. It's a very exciting return to the blues in a very visceral way. It's vibrant and it's gutsy and it's really, really rugged."

A unique group of musicians was assembled, including Aerosmith guitarist Brad Whitford (guitar), Blondie Chaplin (guitar), Anton Fig (drums and percussion), Arlan Schierbaum (keyboard), Michael Rhodes (bass), Carmine Rojas (bass), Jeff Bova and The Bovaland Brass, Pat Thrall (guitar), and Whitford's son Harrison Whitford (guitar).

Brad Whitford, speaking from the studio in Vegas, said, "This is definitely more influenced by the stuff that the guys and musicians in this room love, early '60s English and American rock and blues. I guess we'll never get that out of our system and its fun to come in here and find our own path down that highway."

Driving Towards The Daylight is also available in limited edition digibook format which includes 72-page booklet with exclusive photographs and interview with the man himself. 

Driving Towards The Daylight tracklisting

1. Dislocated Boy
2. Stones In My Passway~
3. Driving Towards The Daylight
4. Who's Been Talking
5. I Got All You Nedd
6. A Place In My Heart
7. Lonely Town Lonely Street 
8. Heavenly Soul
9. New Coat Of Paint
10. Somewhere Trouble  
11. Too Much Ain't Enough Love (w/ Jimmy Barnes)

We was lucky enough to catch up with Joe for an exclusive interview and jam session in Issue 4 of Guitar Interactive Magazine. The feature also includes an in-depth Bonamassa gear section, including Joe's very own Lazy J amp, and a full analysis and review of the fabulously rare and expensive '59 Gibson Les Paul.


Al Di Meola suffers heart attack on stage in Romania
MOOER GTRS Releases GWR4 Wireless Receiver
Joe Bonamassa's new album "Blues Deluxe Vol. 2" — Coming in Oct
MR. BIG “The BIG Finish” Final World Tour Coming To The U.S. Starting January 12, 2024 In Houston, TX
Top magnifiercross linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram