Classic Rock Roll of Honour 2012 Winners Revealed

Published 11 years ago on November 14, 2012

By Guitar Interactive Magazine

Classic Rock Roll of Honour 2012 Winners Revealed-

The eighth annual OrangeAmplification Classic Rock Roll of Honour 2012gala took place at London's Roundhouse last night.

The event, which was hosted by Duff McKgan, sawsome of the world's greatest rock icons, performers, musicians andsongwriters fill the acclaimed Camden venue which also featuredMotley Crue bassist Nikki Sixxpresenting his Sixx Sense show from the ceremony.

That little ol' band from Texas, ZZ Top werepresented with the 'Living Legend Award' by last year'swinner, Jeff Beck and join JimmyPage, Alice Cooper and IggyPop as winners of the coveted award. 

Among the other winners were Canadian prog-legendsRush who won 'Album of the Year' and'Band of the Year', Pink Floyd whowere awarded 'Film/DVD of the Year' and 'Reissue of theYear' and Status Quo who picked up'Classic Album.'

UK punk veterans The Damned were awarded fortheir 'Outstanding Contribution' to rock and RivalSons won 'Breakthrough Act.'

New York thrashers Anthrax were named 'MetalGurus' and manager Tony Smith was named 'VIP.' The late, greatJon Lord was given the prestigious 'Tommy VanceInspiration Award.'

Lynyrd Skynyrd, who won the 'ComebackAward,' alos played a 30-minute set for invited guests at anafter gala dinner.

Classic Rock editor in chief Scott Rowley said:

"You would never know it from listening to the radio orwatching TV - but while you were all getting excited about Psy andFun and Nicki Minaj, it's actually been a great year for new rockmusic.

"We've heard brilliant new albums from ZZ Top, Rush,Aerosmith, Kiss, Springsteen, Slash, Lynyrd Skynyrd and VanHalen.

"Some great new artists are coming in to their own: RivalsSons, Tracer, Howlin' Rain, Gary Clark Jr - the list goeson."

Classic Rock Roll of Honour 2012

The Living Legend Award (Sponsored by Orange Amplification): ZZTop
Event Of The Year (Sponsored by Roadrunner): Ginger Raises£250k
Breakthrough Act Of The Year (sponsored by Olympus): RivalSons
The Musicians' Union Maestro Award: Phil Manzanera
Tommy Vance Inspiration Award (Sponsored by Lewis Leathers): JonLord
Classic Songwriter Award (Sponsored by Sennheiser): RussBallard
Outstanding Contribution (sponsored by Monitor Audio): TheDamned
Classic Album Award (sponsored by Eagle Rock): Status Quo'Live!'
V.I.P. Award (sponsored by Tony Smith
Metal Guru Award (sponsored by Mascot Label Group): Anthrax
Best New Band (sponsored by Kraken): Tracer
Album Of The Year: Rush 'Clockwork Angels'
Reissue Of The Year (sponsored by Alchemy): Pink Floyd's'Immersion'
Film/DVD Award: Pink Floyd 'The Story Of Wish You Were Here'
Band Of The Year (sponsored by Live Nation): Rush
Spirit Of Prog Award (sponsored by USM / UMC): Family
Showman Of The Year (sponsored by Rimowa): Nikki Sixx
Comeback Award (Sponsored by Jeffery West): Lynyrd Skynyrd


NEW MUSIC - EXTREME - New Album "SIX" Out On 9th June
NEW MUSIC - ART NATION - New Album "Inception" Out On 9th June 2023 via Frontiers Music Srl
Less Than A Week Until KISS Return To The UK - For The Final Time!
Arielle joins Sir Brian May and Van Morrison for 'James Burton & Friends UK - For One Night Only'
Top magnifiercross linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram