Brand New Jimi Hendrix Documentary Featuring Historic Atlanta Pop Festival Show

Published 8 years ago on September 3, 2015

By Jonathan Graham

A groundbreaking Independence Day performance by The Jimi Hendrix Experience at the Atlanta Pop Festival in 1970 is set to be the focus of a new documentary & live album.

The performance has remained unseen for the 30 years due to reoccurring difficulties securing a deal to create a documentary in the vein of Woodstock. The film is produced by esteemed event videographer Steve Rash, who also directed The Buddy Holly Story and Can’t Buy Me Love.

"Jimi Hendrix: Electric Church" tells the story of Jimi Hendrix’s participation at the Second Annual Atlanta Pop Festival, and how the three-day event was organized by promoter Alex Cooley in the face of adversity from members of the community, who feared the event may provoke violence between some unsavoury Southern crowds and free-loving hippies.

This was an important chapter in Jimi’s life and career that needed to be documented,” said John McDermott, director of the Jimi Hendrix catalog after a recent film screening in New York.

Hopefully this will connect with fans and they will really be able to understand what was going on with Jimi Hendrix. Here we are 45 years later and this footage still has such power.”

The upcoming roc-umentary will feature interviews with band members Billy Cox and the late Mitch Mitchell as well as Paul McCartney, Steve Winwood and Kirk Hammett. The recording spans most of Hendrix's musical catalogue, from "Foxy Lady" and "Red House" as well as posthumously released tracks such as "Straight Ahead". And, obviously, since the concert took place on July 4th, Hendrix delivered a stunning rendition of "The Star Spangled Banner."

The Atlanta International Pop Festival also marked the largest American audience Hendrix ever performed in front of, an estimated 300,000 people.

"Jimi Hendrix: Electric Church" will premiere on US network Showtime on September 4th. A DVD/Blu-Ray release of the documentary will follow on October 30th with exclusive bonus content not shown in the televised version.

Disc 1

1. "Fire"
2. "Lover Man"
3. "Spanish Castle Magic"
4. "Red House"
5. "Room Full Of Mirrors"
6. "Hear My Train A Comin’"
7. "Message To Love"

Disc 2

1. "All Along The Watchtower"
2. "Freedom"
3. "Foxy Lady"
4. "Purple Haze"
5. "Hey Joe"
6. "Voodoo Child (Slight Return) "


Jimi Hendrix - Electric Church | Official Trailer | Showtime Documentary


Jeff Beck Has Died. Legendary Grammy-Winning Guitarist, Dead at 78
Watch Crobot's Latest Video "Kiss It Goodbye" Featuring Howard Jones (Light The Torch/Killswitch Engage) — New EP Rat Child Out Now
TERAMAZE Unveil Official Video For 'Fight Or Flight'
Diamond Head - Unveil Much Anticipated Title Track "The Coffin Train"
Top magnifiercross linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram